28 Aug - 1 Sept 2023 | UNSW Sydney


The International Association for Urban Climate (IAUC) and the American Meteorological Society (AMS) warmly invite you to the joint 11th International Conference on Urban Climate (ICUC11) to be held in Sydney, Australia, from August 28th to September 1st, 2023.

The ICUC meetings are preeminent events for the presentation of research on urban climate, at all scales. This conference brings together a diverse international community of researchers, urban planners and designers, and policymakers. 

The conference will provide an international forum where world-leading experts on urban climate can discuss modern developments in research alongside the application of climatic knowledge to the design of better cities.

Conference History

The World Meteorological Organization (WMO) and the International Federation for Housing and Planning (IFHP) both ran successful international conferences on urban climate between the 1960s-80s. In 1989, these endeavours came together in the form of joint meetings under the name International Conference on Urban Climatology (ICUC).  The International Association for Urban Climate (IAUC) assumed responsibility for these conferences in 2003 with the meeting in Lodz, Poland.

ICUC conferences are now held every 3 years and bring together more than 600 delegates from 55 countries.

We look forward to welcoming you to Sydney in 2023!

Conference Chairs and Organisers

Headshot of Negin Nazarian

Dr Negin Nazarian

Scientia Senior Lecturer | Assistant Professor, UNSW Built Environment

Headshot of Melissa Hart

Associate Professor Melissa Hart

ARC Centre of Excellence for Climate Extremes, UNSW Science

Scientia Professor Mat Santamouris
View profile

Scientia Professor Deo Prasad
University of New South Wales
View profile

Professor Richard de Dear
University of Sydney
View profile

Professor Xiaoqi Feng
University of New South Wales
View profile

Emeritus Professor Nigel Tapper
Monash University
View profile

Scientific Program Committee

Dr Riccardo Paolini
University of New South Wales
View profile

Dr Mathew Lipson
Bureau of Meteorology
View profile

Publication Committee

Dr Carlos Bartesaghi Koc
University of Adelaide
View profile

Professor Gerald Mill
University College Dublin
View profile

Community Engagement and Promotion Committee

Dr Matthias Demuzere
Ruhr University Bochum  
View profile

Professor Baojie He
Chongqing University
View profile

Early Career Researcher (ECR) Engagement Committee

Dr Shamila Haddad
ECR Engagement Chair, UNSW
View profile

Dr Shreya Banerjee
Singapore Management University
View profile

Dr Peter Crank
Oklahoma State University, USA
View profile

Dr Kerry Nice
University of Melbourne
View profile

Dr Cho Kwong Charlie Lam
Sun Yat-sen University
View profile

Social Media Committee

Gisel Guzman Echavarria
Arizona State University, USA
View profile

Pui Kwan Cheung
University of Melbourne
View profile

Natasha Picone
Universidad Nacional del Centro de la Provincia de Buenos Aires
View profile

Peter Armstrong, Khalifa University, UAE 

Alexander Baklanov, World Meteorological Organization, Switzerland 

Ifeoluwa Balogun, Federal University of Technology, Nigeria 

Benjamin Bechtel, Ruhr Universität Bochum, Germany 

Brij Bhushan, Mewar University, India

Winston Chow, Singapore Management University, Singapore 

Andreas Christen, Universität Freiburg, Germany 

Matthias Demuzere, Ruhr Universität Bochum, Germany 

Mat Georgescu, Arizona State University, USA 

Jorge Gonzalez, City College New York, USA 

Sue Grimmond, University of Reading, UK

Akhilesh Gupta, Department of Science and Technology, India

Aya Hagishima, Kyushu University, Japan

Leena Järvi, University of Helsinki, Finland 

Andreas Matzarakis, German Meteorological Service, Germany 

Shiguang Miao, China Meteorological Administration, China 

Ariane Middel, Arizona State University, USA 

Gerald Mill, University College Dublin, Ireland 

Chandana Mitra, Auburn University, USA

Dev Niyogi, University of Texas at Austin, USA

David Pearlmutter, Ben Gurion University, Israel 

Amauri Pereira de Oliveira, University of São Paulo, Brazil 

Chao Ren, Hong Kong University, Hong Kong 

David Sailor, Arizona State University, USA 

Jennifer Salmond, University of Auckland, New Zealand 

Nigel Tapper, Monash, Australia 

Mukul Tewari, IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center, USA

Sofia Thorsson, University of Gothenburg, Sweden

Helen Ward, University of Innsbruck, Austria

Jennifer Vanos, Arizona State University, USA 

James Voogt, Western University, Canada

Sevgi Yilmaz, Atatürk University, Turkey